Some kind of Chowder

More often than not I find myself missing, or not having enough, ingredients to make certain dishes. Always wanted to make corn chowder and having one cob I went in with all my heart to make a light version of it. 

I added some fresh cherry tomatoes and parsley for garniture to give some freshness. And, voila, happy days.

Here’s my recipe:

  • 1 corn on the cob
  • Butter to taste (I like lots)
  • 5 medium sized potatoes
  • 1 onion
  • 10 cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 clove of garlic
  • 5 cups water
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 tsp white pepper
  • Salt to taste
  • Pinch of cayenne

Clean the cob and reserve corns. Cook the cob with the water for about 15 minutes. Fry onions, tomatoes, potatoes and garlic over low heat until onion goes transparent. Remove cob from water and add the mixture. Boil until potatoes are soft. Add heavy cream and corn and simmer for 10 minutes. 

Here comes the part I do not like, but someone in our household doesn’t like chunks in soups. Blitz the mixture, I think blitzers are soups worst enemy, but that’s​ my opinion. Strain and serve. 
Inspiration from here:

https://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/8904-basic-corn-chowder

Leave a Reply

