Easy Pie Recipe

Today has been one of those days at work where I’ve been scratching my back and wondering what I’m doing with my life. At least my work life: wasting 10 hours a day on a job which gives no pleasure. TBH it’s like this every day, but some days are worse than others. 

It’s been really warm in Paris today and I had to run from work to pick up our three year old. No park today and straight home as I was soaking wet. 

As I opened the door I could notice the smell of nice homemade food. The best food is what someone else makes for you. Especially when it’s made with love and a great deal of skill. I’ve been dreaming and himting about wanting pies and I was suspecting it was in the making as I could see butter cubes on the kitchen bench last night.

I never used to like pies. Did not care for the pie crust itself, but after meeting my better half I cannot get enough of it. She makes it really thin. Full of delightful butter taste and crust which crumbles. I don’t know what’s been wrong with the pies I’ve eaten before, but it just shows what difference a pair of skilled hands can do. It’s all about the touch.

The pie itself was made with vegetables, cheese and ham. Lightly fried in the pan so they would be crisp and fresh after coming out of the oven. Eggs were cooked to perfection. I’m sharing the  pie recipe my girlfriend uses and the filling can easily be adjusted to taste, but try it out. Fresh, crispy and just warm enough to match a hot summer day. 

Take care and enjoy.

Pie Recipe:

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butter, chilled and diced
  • 1/4 cup cold water

This recipe is for a 27 cm pie form.

Prepare the pie dough at least 6 hours in advance. 

Cut butter in dice sized squares. Mix all ingredients together until smooth. Leave in fridge for minimum 6 hours.

Take out the dough and let it rest for about 30 minutes in room temperature. Roll it out so it fits the pie form. Put back in fridge to cool down. This will prevent the dough from shrinking. 

Set the oven at 170 degrees Celsius.

When chilled take out and blind bake for 20 minutes. 

While blind baking prepare the filling. 

  • 4 egg
  • 1 onion
  • 4 chopped cherry tomatoes
  • Enough cheese to cover bottom of pie
  • 1/4 cup of chopped ham
  • 1 🥕
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 1/3 cup bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup broccoli 
  • Cayenne, salt, paprika powder and white pepper to taste

In one bowl whisk 4 eggs without creating foam. Add the spices.

Prepare the vegetables in small bits. Fry them lightly in a pan.

Take out the pie and first add cheese to cover bottom of the pie. Then add ham and cherry tomatoes. Pour the eggs over and add the vegetables.

Cook in oven at 170 degrees for about 35 minutes. Put a knife in the filling. It should come out clean. 

Be patient. Let it rest a bit and dig in.

Leave a Reply

